Busy. Busy. Busy.

4 Jun

Last week was eerily quiet here at Living With the Birds, a sign that my non-blogging life has been anything but.

Tuesday I began my newest project: launching a new lifestyle magazine. The company that owns the magazine already has several successful magazines in other cities, and this magazine will be following the same format as the other magazines, so a lot of the work is already done. But, there’s still a lot to be done.

I’ve been working part-time with the legal magazine I was with before this new project came along. I will be there in the mornings, and my afternoons will be dedicated to the new magazine. And there will be a few freelance projects and blog posts mixed in with everything else.

I’m getting the opportunity to work on wonderful, fun projects, and my resume is going to have some great new additions.

It’s going to be a busy season for sure, but I couldn’t be more excited for it.

May 30 – Crackers

For a household of two (plus a dog), we eat a lot of crackers. All of these cracker boxes were sitting on her counter Wednesday night. I’m pretty sure there’s part of one box left four days later.  Wednesday was our turn to take snacks to small group, and two of the boxes went with us to accompany the Reuben dip that Dustin made. Even with that considered, we still eat a lot of crackers.

May 31 – Pen Pal fun

I just started writing letters to my first pen pal. I’ve been exploring all kinds of stationary supplies, and I just discovered this fun decorative tape. It comes in a variety of designs and is great for jazzing up your paper — if you’re in to that kind of thing.

I’ve found the tape at Target and on Etsy.

June 1 – Weekend Transformation

Weekends always change the dynamics of our home quite a bit. During the week our lives consist of sleep, work, and a tiny bit of conversation with each other. Weekends are almost always filled with friends, family, and an abundance of activities. This weekend brought a few family members, several adventurous outings, and several hours spent playing Killer Bunnies.

My sister has recently discovered Transformers, which is one of Dustin’s childhood favorites. It was talked about a lot this weekend.

June 2 – Feed the Giraffe

Saturday morning brought a much-anticipated trip to the zoo. And of course, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to feed the giraffes.

June 2 – Underground Explorations

I love caves. I was a tour guide at a cave through most of high school and all of college. My sister and I took a trip underground yesterday and had a wonderful time. We learned some interesting things about local history and saw some pretty formations.

 

4 Responses to “Busy. Busy. Busy.”

  1. cravesadventure June 4, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Loving your post, especially the giraffe pic – ha! Have a Great Day:)

  2. christine June 4, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    The giraffe pic is hilarious. And I have to ask–where did you get that awesome planner? I need a new one in July and I’m dreading it because I can never find one I like.

    • Katie Barton June 5, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      I got it at Staples.

      A few posts back I was complaining because it doesn’t start until July. It would be perfect for you!

      • christine June 5, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

        OMG! Congrats on FP!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

