Fave Five Friday: Magazines

11 May

I’ve been thinking about magazines a lot lately.

In case you missed it, I made a magazine-centered announcement yesterday. My home and my office are both filled with old magazine issues that I’m convinced will later be used for research, crafts or perusing.

I love magazines. I love the long feature articles, the lists, the calendars, the short blurbs, the design, the glossy pages, and, well, I could go on and on, but you get the picture. 

Because of all this magazine talk, this week’s Fave Five Friday post is focused on my favorite magazines. It’s going to be fun.

 

5. Esquire
Yes, that’s right. A men’s magazine made it on this week’s Fave Five list. But to be fair, the articles in Esquire are much more substantial than articles found in typical women’s magazines. The first Esquire article I read was a very thought-provoking piece about photos from September 11. Their Facebook usually has interesting updates as well.

4.  Glamour
My first subscription to Glamour was a gift, or something that came free with a purchase. It’s not something I got on my own. It’s become somewhat of a guilty pleasure. I really enjoy reading the fashion do’s and don’ts.

3. Newsweek
I love the features in Newsweek. They’re a fun way to stay informed of current events.

2. Better Homes and Gardens
I love looking through the recipes and all of the photos of tasty looking foods and beautifully decorated homes. I just subscribed to Better Homes and Gardens for the first time, and I’m very excited to get my first issue.

1. Real Simple
Real Simple is the functional version of Better Homes and Gardens. It’s filled with photos of homes and living spaces that aren’t just beautiful, they’re practical and organized.

What’s your favorite magazine? Leave me a comment, and let me know!

5 Responses to “Fave Five Friday: Magazines”

  1. The Life of Clare May 11, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    I also love Better Homes and Gardens, such great ideas and foody inspiration. My favourite magazines would have to be Frankie (an amazing Australian magazine – slightly alternative fashion and foody and many other bits and pieces), Yen, and I’ve just discovered Mollie Makes from England. It’s fantastic.

    • Katie Barton May 14, 2012 at 10:49 am #

      I’m very excited that you just told me about magazines I hadn’t previously heard of. I can’t wait to check them out. Thanks!

  2. patience May 12, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    oh my GOSH real simple is obviously the best magazine. EVER.

  3. ahumblevessel June 5, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    Real Simple is my choice 🙂

Leave a Reply

