Adventures in Vietnam

14 Apr

20120414-175101.jpg
April 13 -Adventures in Vietnam

I have been hearing tons about Boba tea, or bubble tea, lately. I had never had it, so I wanted to try it for myself.

I found a local Vietnamese place that serves the beverage and tried it during my lunch break yesterday.

I was pleasantly surprised. What I had was very much like a strawberry smoothie with chewy balls.

Since I was there, I also tried Vietnamese food for the first time. It was good, but I want to try something a little more new-to-me than stir fry next time.

From my research, I know there is a lot of variation in Boba tea. I am excited to try more varieties.

Have you tried any new treats lately?

6 Responses to “Adventures in Vietnam”

  1. Reverse Engineering April 14, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Delicious! Great pic!

  2. asolosingerinamerica April 15, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I really wanted to try some when I was is NY, but never had the time to.

    Do you know how it’s made, I’m so curious what the.”base” is

    • Katie Barton April 17, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      What I had was essentially a smoothie with the addition of Boba. I also had the option of a chai tea base.

      I know that some places use an iced tea base with fruit syrups and Boba. A few weeks ago, Emma explained how to make Boba at home on the Food Coma blog, and she uses iced tea as a base.

  3. cravesadventure April 15, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    I had the best french toast last Sunday, which was a little bit breakfast and a little bit treat!

    • Katie Barton April 17, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      French toast sounds wonderful! Was there anything unique about your French toast?

Leave a Reply

