Fave Five Friday: News Products

6 Apr

I grew up watching the news every night, reading the newspaper several times a week, and ending every Sunday with “60 Minutes”. I love the news.

I enjoy comparing how different reporters cover the same story. I love analyzing the sources they chose to speak with, the headlines they wrote, and the things they thought were most important.

I think being informed is one of our most important responsibilities as citizens.

So, this week’s Fave Five Friday post is all about being informed. Enjoy!

 

5. Ozark’s Local: “The Morning Rush”
“The Morning Rush” is the last two hours of the four hour morning show my handsome husband works on. (It’s the part I’m awake to see.) Watching packages he’s worked on always makes me really proud of him. “The Morning Rush” is also a great source of local news.

4. “CBS This Morning”
There’s a lot of competition between the three major morning shows right now. All three are working really hard to gain viewers; it’s an exciting time in morning news.
“CBS This Morning” is my favorite of the three. I love the format of the three anchors sitting at a circle table, and I think the anchors’ personalities mesh well together. I also love Charlie Rose.

3. “The Nightly News with Brian Williams”
Coming home to the intro music of the nighty news is one of my favorite things. I grew up watching the NBC Nightly News every night; it’s probably where my fascination with news began. And with a constant stream of news updates on Facebook, Twitter, and 24-hour news networks it’s really nice to be able to sit down for 30 minutes and watch the most important news of the day. It makes news consumption easy.

2. “60 Minutes”
Judging by the commercials, I’m probably not part of the “60 Minutes” target audience. But, I really love the longer, feature segments. And, I think the reporting is extraordinary.

Side Note: The “60 Minutes” iPad app is probably the most expensive news app I’ve purchased, but it’s by far the most fun. In addition to the current week’s segments and behind the scenes information, the “60 Minutes” crew has uploaded several of their most popular segments from “60 Minutes” history, as well as several segments from each correspondent. I’ve enjoyed re-watching everything from Oklahoma City bombing survivors talking about Timothy McVeigh right before his execution to an interview with Jerry Seinfeld from the height of his sitcom’s popularity.  

1. “The New York Times”
The Times is the gold standard of news, how could it not be my favorite. I’m constantly amazed by the high quality of reporting and writing, especially their lighter stories. I love reading their articles on topics like small foods or house cleaning, and thinking about why they talked to certain sources and who I would have tried to interview for a similar assignment.  

What are your favorite news products?

3 Responses to “Fave Five Friday: News Products”

  1. cravesadventure April 12, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    Sunday was a big news day in our house growing up – Sunday Morning and 60 minutes and then you had the Sunday paper. I still enjoy a lazy Sunday morning with the news or newspaper, especially during the Fall Holidays (gotta check out the ads).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fave Five Friday: iPad Aps « Living With the Birds - April 20, 2012

    […] already posted about how wonderful this app is once. With this app  you can see what was on “60 Minutes” last week, see what’s […]

  2. Afternoon Pie « Living With the Birds - June 5, 2012

    […] time here I would love to have you as a follower. You’ll get to see a lot of photos, several lists, and some funny things.  (You can become a follower by following the instructions on the right […]

Leave a Reply

