Art Journal

4 Apr

In college, I had a rhetoric minor. Every class necessary for that minor required you to keep a creative writing journal throughout the semster. I looked forward to buying a new journal each semester, and I usually spent weeks shopping for the perfect  journal.  Even if my journal from the previous semester still had plenty of blank pages, I found it necessary to start fresh with a new journal.

We were always encouraged to fill our journals with photos, drawings, and similar things that would inspire us. I honestly never put anything in my journal other than words.

I always enjoyed journaling, and I ended up with some of my best pieces of writing because of the activity.

Since graduation I’ve only journaled a few times, and I’ve not felt very inspired. Yesterday during a conversation with my sister about some of her art projects, I decided to do something about it.

I combined this mini magazine notebook DIY with the idea for this  art journal and the idea behind keeping a journal filled with things that inspire creative writing. Here’s what I came up with.

 

I made the notebook by folding a small stack of computer paper in half. The cover is a piece of scrapbook paper that I trimmed to fit the computer paper. The instructions for the mini magazine notebook DIY basically did the same thing. They suggested sewing the pages together, but I couldn’t get the needle through the paper (maybe my paper was too thick), so I stapled my notebook together.

I used scrapbooking supplies to spruce up the inside of the journal that will (hopefully) inspire creative thoughts. 

After I took this photo, I drew a few pine trees on the map.

I had a lot of fun making this journal, and I can’t wait to fill up the blank panges.

Leave me a comment and tell me what inspires you. I’d love to hear from you.

4 Responses to “Art Journal”

  1. cravesadventure April 4, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Just the whole reading, writing, photography inspires me. Plus being around other creative people – thanks for sharing!

  2. kaie w. bird April 4, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I love this! I have always been one to keep journals and have one currently that holds a lot of pages like your photos. Writing has always been the best way to express my feelings and thoughts. And as my memory gets worse (stupid aging), it seems like the best way to remember the little things that once meant everything to me. Yay for journals and notebooks!

  3. sarahmmetallo April 4, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    I love this!

  4. Leonard G April 6, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    My 15-year old daughter inspires me! She journals constantly, and is insanely creative with incorporating her drawings, mini-versions of cards she makes for people, etc. into her journals. Thank you for the awesome post!

Leave a Reply

