Fave Five Friday: Brand Mascots

30 Mar

Dustin and I had a conversation last weekend about what commercials during our life had affected our purchasing habits the most, and what products we still buy because of commercials we’d seen long ago. That conversation inspired this week’s Fave Five Friday. Take a look at my five favorite brand mascots, then share your favorites with me in the comments. I’d love to hear from you!

5. The Two Sonic Guys
These two guys aren’t really a brand mascot, but they have done a lot to help with Sonic’s marketing. You’ve probably seen a commercial (or five or six) of these two guys sitting in their car at Sonic discussing a new product. They’re funny in a simple, random sort of way that always makes me smile.  

4. The Trix Rabbit
Nothing says Saturday morning cartoons quite like, “Silly Rabbit, Trix are for kids.”

3. The Morton Salt Girl
The Morton Salt Girl reminds me of my childhood. The illustration of the Morton Salt Girl was always there on the counter or the kitchen table. 

2. Elsie the Cow
Elsie the Cow (She’s the mascot for the Borden Milk Comapny) is married to Elmer the Bull (He’s the mascot for Elmer’s glue). Elsie wins the number two spot on this list for sentimental reasons. My grandma’s name was Elsie, and my grandpa’s name (her husband) was Elmer.  Every time I see Elsie the Cow’s illustration on a can of condensed milk I get a little sentimental.
Side Note: If you search for Elsie the Cow on Etsy, you’ll find all sorts of wonderful vintage things.

1. The Giecko Gecko
If you’ll think back to 1999, the gecko was on his first Giecko commercial trying to change his name because people were calling him at all hours of the night trying to reach Giecko. In the next commercial, the gecko was trying out to be the Giecko brand mascot.  A little more than 10 years later, the gecko seems fairly comfortable in his role with Giecko.
I love the gecko. That’s really all there is to say. I haven’t seen one commercial with the gecko that I didn’t absolutely love.

 

For a different look at brand mascots, Business Insider put together a list of the 10 brand Mascots America hates the most.

Who is your favorite brand mascot? Leave a comment and let me know.

3 Responses to “Fave Five Friday: Brand Mascots”

  1. shanson3871 March 30, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    At a moment’s thought the only commercial that comes to my mind is the Febreze air effects commercials. You know where they blindfold people and take them into the most disgusting places and have them smell the room and whatever gross thing is in there. This commercial really makes me angry, lol. I will not buy this product because of it, and for 2 reasons. A) I’m a germaphobe and I would absolutely die if someone did this too me. There wouldn’t be water hot enough or soap with enough antibacterial in it to get me to ever feel clean again and, B) Febreze does not work that well. We have it here at work (I work with all men, trust me when I tell you air fresheners are a necessity) and when I get to the point I cannot take it anymore and I spray it all I smell then is the gross smell I was trying to cover up and Febreze!!! Very annoying..lol.

  2. cravesadventure March 30, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I enjoyed a recent Wendy’s commercial because the real life Wendy was in it. I hate that annoying pig and do not even know what the commercial is for now that I think about it – zip lining, riding in the car, etc.

  3. Jailbreak March 30, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my web site so i got here to “return the choose”.I am trying to in finding things to enhance my web site!I assume its ok to make use of some of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

