Fave Five Friday: Games

2 Mar

Board games and card games are a great way to break the ice with people you barely know or to spend quality time with people you love. Playing games is one of my favorite past times, so for this week’s Fave Five Friday I put together this list of my favorite games. Enjoy!

5. The Newlywed Game
Dustin and I recieved the DVD version of The Newlywed game as a gift for our first Christmas as a married couple. The DVD allows couples to play against friends or against TV couples who competed on the game show in the ’60s and ’70s. It’s almost as fun to watch the TV couples with their crazy hairstyles and vintage clothes as it is to test your trivial knowledge of your spouse.

4. Bananagrams
I’m a word nerd, so I love all word games. Bananagrams is my favorite.

3. In a Pickle
Players in this card game place cards “inside” other cards. For example, your “pickle” card can go inside a “jar” card, or your “jar” card can go inside a “taxi” card. But sometimes it gets tricky and players have to use imagination. But, what if your opponents don’t agree with your imagination? Opponents have the opportunity to argue against cards they disagree with, at which point all players get the chance to vote. Even if a card isn’t logical, it can still be voted for if you argue your case well (and if you haven’t angered your opponents by voting down their cards).

2. Balderdash
Creativity is one of my favrorite things, and this game is full of it. Where else do you get the opportunity to make up fake descriptions for real movies and fake biographies for real people?

1. Killer Bunnies
During this game, players collect carrots, kaballa dolla (also known as the bunny money) and bunnies while trying to kill opponents’ bunnies with weapons such as green jello with evil pineapple chunks, killer cheese balls, laser guns, and the ebola virus. It sounds crazy, but the creativity of the game’s writers make this the funnest game I’ve ever played.

Is your favorite game not on this list? Let me know what it is. I would love to try it out.

3 Responses to “Fave Five Friday: Games”

  1. Sang Burrow March 21, 2012 at 6:41 am #

    Wow! Thank you! I constantly wanted to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a part of your post to my site?

    • Katie Barton March 27, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

      You can if you provide a link back to this site.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. thetickthatbitme June 5, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    I love Balderdash! I have great childhood memories of playing it with my family. I’m going to try the others in your list.

Leave a Reply

